Meta Platforms Inc.

AI Lab

Legal name: Meta Platforms Inc. · HQ: US · Public (META) · Founded 2004

Open-source AI lab and hyperscale infrastructure operator. The Llama model family is released openly; training compute is disclosed in research papers but Scope 1/2/3 emissions are not isolated to AI workloads.

Disclosure Quality

Score

38/100

Transparency Grade

T-4

minimal disclosure

Grades run T-1 (most transparent) to T-5 (least transparent).

Red flags identified (3)

  • RF-01 · Total energy consumption not disclosed
  • RF-03 · Water withdrawal not disclosed
  • RF-04 · AI-specific energy use not disclosed

See the disclosure audit below for details.

Fiscal year 2023. Score computed from OpenButterfly T1–T6 disclosure framework audit. Confidence tier: C (Estimated, Documented Method).

Environmental Metrics

Fiscal year 2026. Each metric is shown at its most recent available year; rows from a different year are marked.

Confidence tiers: A measured and verified · B company-reported · C documented estimate · D uncertain estimate · E modeled · ND not disclosed.

Total Energy Consumption

24.3 TWh

the annual electricity use of 2.3 million US homes

method: known_capacity_model

Source: OpenButterfly pipeline

C

AI-Specific EnergyFY 2023

Not DisclosedNDchecked 2025-05-23

AI training and inference energy not separately disclosed.

ND

Scope 1 Emissions

178 kt CO₂e

the annual emissions of 39,000 passenger cars

method: scope1_ratio_model

Source: OpenButterfly pipeline

E

Scope 2 Emissions (market-based)

446 kt CO₂e

the annual emissions of 97,000 passenger cars

method: grid_carbon_model

Source: OpenButterfly pipeline

D

Scope 3 Emissions

13.63 Mt CO₂e

the annual emissions of 3.0 million passenger cars

method: scope3_ratio_model

Source: OpenButterfly pipeline

E

Water Withdrawal

33.5 GL

13,000 Olympic swimming pools of water

method: wue_model

Source: OpenButterfly pipeline

D

Property-Line Noise (estimated)

~57.2 dBA at property line

method: cooling_load_noise_model

Source: OpenButterfly pipeline

E

Change Over Time

Fiscal years with a value on record. The letter under each year is that figure's confidence tier — a change between a disclosed (A–B) and an estimated (C–E) figure is indicative only, not a measured trend. Modeled noise is excluded: its year axis tracks the model, not the facility.

Total Energy Consumption

+22% FY 2023 → FY 2026

20.0 TWh2023D15.3 TWh2024B24.3 TWh2026C
Scope 1 Emissions

+264% FY 2024 → FY 2026

49.0 kt2024B178.2 kt2026E
Scope 2 Emissions (market-based)
0 t2023B1.7 kt2024B445.6 kt2026D
Scope 3 Emissions

+83% FY 2024 → FY 2026

7.45 Mt2024B13.63 Mt2026E
Water Withdrawal

+50% FY 2024 → FY 2026

22.4 GL2024B33.5 GL2026D

Disclosure Audit

Show 5 disclosure checks (T1–T6 framework)
T1.1

Total electricity consumption disclosed

Renewable capacity (MW) disclosed but not total MWh consumed.

RF-01 (Total energy consumption not disclosed)

Partial
T2.2

Scope 2 market-based emissions disclosed

Reported as zero market-based via renewable procurement.

Fully Disclosed
T3.1

Total water withdrawal disclosed

Water data not disclosed in 2023 report.

RF-03 (Water withdrawal not disclosed)

Not Disclosed
T1.2

AI-specific energy consumption disclosed

AI workload energy not disclosed.

RF-04 (AI-specific energy use not disclosed)

Not Disclosed
T6.1

GHG accounting methodology documented

GHG Protocol referenced; limited methodology detail.

Partial

Sources

  • Meta 2023 Sustainability Report· sustainability report · trust: medium · accessed 2025-05-23

    Meta discloses renewable capacity but not total energy in MWh.