Crusoe

Cloud Provider

Legal name: Crusoe Energy Systems LLC · HQ: US · Private · Founded 2018

AI data center developer and GPU cloud provider. Built the Stargate campus in Abilene, Texas, leased to Oracle for OpenAI, and is building capacity for Microsoft and Meta. Electricity at campuses handed over to tenants is counted in the tenants' emissions, not Crusoe's.

Disclosure Quality

Score

35/100

Transparency Grade

T-4

minimal disclosure

Grades run T-1 (most transparent) to T-5 (least transparent).

Red flags identified (2)

  • RF-01 · Total energy consumption not disclosed
  • RF-04 · AI-specific energy use not disclosed

See the disclosure audit below for details.

Fiscal year 2026. Score computed from OpenButterfly T1–T6 disclosure framework audit. Confidence tier: C (Estimated, Documented Method).

Environmental Metrics

Fiscal year 2025. Each metric is shown at its most recent available year; rows from a different year are marked.

Confidence tiers: A measured and verified · B company-reported · C documented estimate · D uncertain estimate · E modeled · ND not disclosed.

Total Energy Consumption

107 GWh

≈ the annual electricity use of 10,000 US homes

method: known_capacity_model

Source: OpenButterfly pipeline

C

Scope 1 Emissions

11 kt CO₂e

≈ the annual emissions of 2,326 passenger cars

Disclosed figure verified against the published report (covers calendar year 2025). Scope 3 includes 355,600 tCO2e embodied carbon of the first two Abilene buildings and 116,600 tCO2e downstream leased assets; electricity at campuses handed over to tenants is counted by the tenants.

Source: Crusoe 2025 Impact Report

B

Scope 2 Emissions (location-based)

19 kt CO₂e

≈ the annual emissions of 4,043 passenger cars

Disclosed figure verified against the published report (covers calendar year 2025). Scope 3 includes 355,600 tCO2e embodied carbon of the first two Abilene buildings and 116,600 tCO2e downstream leased assets; electricity at campuses handed over to tenants is counted by the tenants.

Source: Crusoe 2025 Impact Report

B

Scope 2 Emissions (market-based)

0 tCO₂e

Disclosed figure verified against the published report (covers calendar year 2025). Scope 3 includes 355,600 tCO2e embodied carbon of the first two Abilene buildings and 116,600 tCO2e downstream leased assets; electricity at campuses handed over to tenants is counted by the tenants.

Source: Crusoe 2025 Impact Report

B

Scope 3 Emissions

579 kt CO₂e

≈ the annual emissions of 126,000 passenger cars

Disclosed figure verified against the published report (covers calendar year 2025). Scope 3 includes 355,600 tCO2e embodied carbon of the first two Abilene buildings and 116,600 tCO2e downstream leased assets; electricity at campuses handed over to tenants is counted by the tenants.

Source: Crusoe 2025 Impact Report

B

Water Withdrawal

134 ML

≈ 54 Olympic swimming pools of water

method: wue_model

Source: OpenButterfly pipeline

D

Property-Line Noise (estimated)

~56.2 dBA at property line

method: cooling_load_noise_model

Source: OpenButterfly pipeline

E

Disclosure Audit

Show 5 disclosure checks (T1–T6 framework)
T1.1

Total electricity consumption disclosed

No electricity or energy total published, despite operating and building gigawatt-scale AI campuses.

RF-01 (Total energy consumption not disclosed)

Not Disclosed
T1.2

AI-specific energy consumption disclosed

No AI compute energy figure; Crusoe Cloud electricity is only described as 100% renewable-matched.

RF-04 (AI-specific energy use not disclosed)

Not Disclosed
T2.1

Scope 1 GHG emissions disclosed

Scope 1, Scope 2 (market and location based) and Scope 3 by category reported for 2025 (2025 Impact Report).

Fully Disclosed
T3.1

Total water withdrawal disclosed

Water use described for a typical 200 MW design (closed-loop cooling, about 2 million gallons a year); no measured company total.

Partial
T6.1

GHG accounting methodology documented

GHG Protocol inventory prepared with Gravity Climate; boundary and treatment of leased campuses explained.

Fully Disclosed