China Telecom
Cloud ProviderLegal name: China Telecom Corporation Limited · HQ: CN · Public (0728) · Founded 2002
China's second-largest telecom operator, running the Tianyi Cloud and AI computing centres in Inner Mongolia, Gui'an and Shanghai Lingang. Publishes an annual ESG report with electricity, emissions and water data.
Disclosure Quality
Score
44/100
Transparency Grade
T-3
partial disclosure
Grades run T-1 (most transparent) to T-5 (least transparent).
Red flags identified (2)
- RF-04 · AI-specific energy use not disclosed
- RF-02 · A greenhouse-gas emissions scope not disclosed
See the disclosure audit below for details.
Fiscal year 2026. Score computed from OpenButterfly T1–T6 disclosure framework audit. Confidence tier: C (Estimated, Documented Method).
Environmental Metrics
Fiscal year 2025. Each metric is shown at its most recent available year; rows from a different year are marked.
Confidence tiers: A measured and verified · B company-reported · C documented estimate · D uncertain estimate · E modeled · ND not disclosed.
Total Energy Consumption
30.2 TWh
≈ the annual electricity use of 2.9 million US homes
Disclosed figure verified against the published report: Overall energy consumption 30,158,901.37 MWh, 2025 (Table of the Indicators, No. 23). Includes electricity (29,301,703.19 MWh, No. 15) and fuels.
Scope 1 Emissions
130 kt CO₂e
≈ the annual emissions of 28,000 passenger cars
Extracted from the report, p.120: "1. Scope 1: Direct greenhouse gas emissions1 million tonnes CO2e 0.13 0.14"
Scope 2 Emissions (market-based)
13.60 Mt CO₂e
≈ the annual emissions of 3.0 million passenger cars
Extracted from the report, p.120: "2. Scope 2: Indirect greenhouse gas emissions1 million tonnes CO2e 13.6 14.21"
Scope 3 Emissions
23.69 Mt CO₂e
≈ the annual emissions of 5.1 million passenger cars
method: scope3_ratio_model; (15,559,204 tCO2e S2-location (29,301,703 MWh disclosed electricity × 0.531 kg/kWh) × (1 + 0.015 S1 ratio)) × 1.5 Scope-3 multiple (category=cloud_provider)
Source: OpenButterfly pipeline
Water Withdrawal
33.9 GL
≈ 14,000 Olympic swimming pools of water
Extracted from the report, p.121: "27. Water consumption7 million tonnes 33.88 36.27"
Property-Line Noise (estimated)FY 2026
~56.2 dBA at property line
method: cooling_load_noise_model; 55.0 dBA @ 30.0 MW ref + 10·log10(40 MW ÷ 30.0) → clamp [45.0, 75.0] dBA (category-typical site size for cloud_provider)
Source: OpenButterfly pipeline
Disclosure Audit
Show 5 disclosure checks (T1–T6 framework)
Total electricity consumption disclosed
Electricity consumption reported for 2024 and 2025 in the Table of the Indicators of the 2025 ESG Report.
AI-specific energy consumption disclosed
No AI or data center energy figure.
RF-04 (AI-specific energy use not disclosed)
Scope 1 GHG emissions disclosed
Scope 1 and Scope 2 reported; the report states that Scope 3 is not disclosed.
RF-02 (A greenhouse-gas emissions scope not disclosed)
Total water withdrawal disclosed
Total water consumption reported (33.88 million tonnes in 2025).
GHG accounting methodology documented
Energy statistics follow the national comprehensive energy consumption standard; emission factors are only partly described.