China Mobile
Cloud ProviderLegal name: China Mobile Limited · HQ: CN · Public (0941) · Founded 1997
China's largest telecom operator and one of its largest data center operators, with AI computing centres in Hohhot and Harbin. Reports company-wide energy, emissions and data center PUE in an annual sustainability report.
Disclosure Quality
Score
48/100
Transparency Grade
T-3
partial disclosure
Grades run T-1 (most transparent) to T-5 (least transparent).
Red flags identified (1)
- RF-04 · AI-specific energy use not disclosed
See the disclosure audit below for details.
Fiscal year 2026. Score computed from OpenButterfly T1–T6 disclosure framework audit. Confidence tier: C (Estimated, Documented Method).
Environmental Metrics
Fiscal year 2025. Each metric is shown at its most recent available year; rows from a different year are marked.
Confidence tiers: A measured and verified · B company-reported · C documented estimate · D uncertain estimate · E modeled · ND not disclosed.
Total Energy Consumption
67.0 TWh
≈ the annual electricity use of 6.4 million US homes
Extracted from the report, p.96: "Total energy consumption MWh 63,067,608 64,747,094 67,026,713 Rate of Decrease in Carbon"
Scope 1 Emissions
190 kt CO₂e
≈ the annual emissions of 41,000 passenger cars
Disclosed figure verified against the published report: Total direct greenhouse gas emissions (Scope I) 0.19 million tons, 2025 (Performance Report, Greenhouse Gas Emissions table).
Scope 2 Emissions (location-based)
35.02 Mt CO₂e
≈ the annual emissions of 7.6 million passenger cars
Disclosed figure verified against the published report: Total indirect greenhouse gas emissions (Scope II) before deducting green electricity, 35.02 million tons, 2025.
Scope 2 Emissions (market-based)
32.09 Mt CO₂e
≈ the annual emissions of 7.0 million passenger cars
Disclosed figure verified against the published report: Total indirect greenhouse gas emissions (Scope II) after green electricity offsetting, 32.09 million tons, 2025.
Scope 3 Emissions
54.19 Mt CO₂e
≈ the annual emissions of 11.8 million passenger cars
method: scope3_ratio_model; (35,591,185 tCO2e S2-location × (1 + 0.015 S1 ratio)) × 1.5 Scope-3 multiple (category=cloud_provider)
Source: OpenButterfly pipeline
Water Withdrawal
40.3 GL
≈ 16,000 Olympic swimming pools of water
Extracted from the report, p.97: "Total water consumption Million tons 37.41 38.74 40.32 Quantity of recycled products and"
Property-Line Noise (estimated)FY 2026
~56.2 dBA at property line
method: cooling_load_noise_model; 55.0 dBA @ 30.0 MW ref + 10·log10(40 MW ÷ 30.0) → clamp [45.0, 75.0] dBA (category-typical site size for cloud_provider)
Source: OpenButterfly pipeline
Disclosure Audit
Show 5 disclosure checks (T1–T6 framework)
Total electricity consumption disclosed
Total energy consumption reported for 2023 to 2025 in the KPI table of the 2025 Sustainability Report.
AI-specific energy consumption disclosed
No AI or data center energy figure; only the average PUE of large data centers (1.285 in 2025) is given.
RF-04 (AI-specific energy use not disclosed)
Scope 1 GHG emissions disclosed
Scope 1 and Scope 2 emissions reported, before and after green electricity.
Total water withdrawal disclosed
Water use is covered under GRI 303-5 in the report index; no data center water figure.
GHG accounting methodology documented
Accounting boundary and conversion factors described; Scope 3 reporting limited to business travel, commuting and investments.