Apple
Hardware ManufacturerLegal name: Apple Inc. · HQ: US · Public (AAPL) · Founded 1976
Maker of the iPhone and Mac. Runs its own data centers in the US and Denmark for iCloud and Apple Intelligence, and builds AI servers in Houston. Publishes a detailed annual Environmental Progress Report with per-site data center electricity.
Disclosure Quality
Score
68/100
Transparency Grade
T-2
good disclosure, gaps remain
Grades run T-1 (most transparent) to T-5 (least transparent).
Red flags identified (1)
- RF-04 · AI-specific energy use not disclosed
See the disclosure audit below for details.
Fiscal year 2026. Score computed from OpenButterfly T1–T6 disclosure framework audit. Confidence tier: C (Estimated, Documented Method).
Environmental Metrics
Fiscal year 2025. Each metric is shown at its most recent available year; rows from a different year are marked.
Confidence tiers: A measured and verified · B company-reported · C documented estimate · D uncertain estimate · E modeled · ND not disclosed.
Total Energy Consumption
4.2 TWh
≈ the annual electricity use of 398,000 US homes
Disclosed figure verified against the published report (covers fiscal year 2025). Energy is electricity 3,737,000 MWh plus fuel 416,680 MWh and steam, heating and cooling 30,090 MWh. Scope 3 is corporate 513,700 plus product life cycle 14,710,000 tCO2e. Water: 1,796 million gallons withdrawn.
Scope 1 Emissions
55 kt CO₂e
≈ the annual emissions of 12,000 passenger cars
Disclosed figure verified against the published report (covers fiscal year 2025). Energy is electricity 3,737,000 MWh plus fuel 416,680 MWh and steam, heating and cooling 30,090 MWh. Scope 3 is corporate 513,700 plus product life cycle 14,710,000 tCO2e. Water: 1,796 million gallons withdrawn.
Scope 2 Emissions (location-based)
1.14 Mt CO₂e
≈ the annual emissions of 248,000 passenger cars
Disclosed figure verified against the published report (covers fiscal year 2025). Energy is electricity 3,737,000 MWh plus fuel 416,680 MWh and steam, heating and cooling 30,090 MWh. Scope 3 is corporate 513,700 plus product life cycle 14,710,000 tCO2e. Water: 1,796 million gallons withdrawn.
Scope 2 Emissions (market-based)
1,100 tCO₂e
≈ the annual emissions of 239 passenger cars
Disclosed figure verified against the published report (covers fiscal year 2025). Energy is electricity 3,737,000 MWh plus fuel 416,680 MWh and steam, heating and cooling 30,090 MWh. Scope 3 is corporate 513,700 plus product life cycle 14,710,000 tCO2e. Water: 1,796 million gallons withdrawn.
Scope 3 Emissions
15.22 Mt CO₂e
≈ the annual emissions of 3.3 million passenger cars
Disclosed figure verified against the published report (covers fiscal year 2025). Energy is electricity 3,737,000 MWh plus fuel 416,680 MWh and steam, heating and cooling 30,090 MWh. Scope 3 is corporate 513,700 plus product life cycle 14,710,000 tCO2e. Water: 1,796 million gallons withdrawn.
Water Withdrawal
6.8 GL
≈ 2,719 Olympic swimming pools of water
Disclosed figure verified against the published report (covers fiscal year 2025). Energy is electricity 3,737,000 MWh plus fuel 416,680 MWh and steam, heating and cooling 30,090 MWh. Scope 3 is corporate 513,700 plus product life cycle 14,710,000 tCO2e. Water: 1,796 million gallons withdrawn.
Property-Line Noise (estimated)
~53.2 dBA at property line
method: cooling_load_noise_model
Source: OpenButterfly pipeline
Disclosure Audit
Show 5 disclosure checks (T1–T6 framework)
Total electricity consumption disclosed
Total energy and electricity reported, with electricity broken down by owned data center and colocation (2026 Environmental Progress Report, FY2025).
AI-specific energy consumption disclosed
No energy figure for Apple Intelligence or Private Cloud Compute, although AI server production started in 2025.
RF-04 (AI-specific energy use not disclosed)
Scope 1 GHG emissions disclosed
Scope 1, Scope 2 (market and location based) and Scope 3 reported and independently assured.
Total water withdrawal disclosed
Corporate water withdrawal reported (1,796 million gallons in FY2025) and assured.
GHG accounting methodology documented
GHG Protocol accounting, product life cycle methodology and third-party assurance documented.